The six Outstanding Young Alumni Award recipients


Outstanding Young Alumni Awards

Thursday, April 11

5:30 - 8:30 p.m.

Sam and Martha Gibbons Alumni Center

11810 USF Sago Drive
Tampa, FL 33620

Driving Directions

Program Highlights and Eligibility Criteria

Award Objective

The Outstanding Young Alumni Awards program recognizes up to 10 alumni aged 35 or younger who have demonstrated emerging and unique innovation, creativity, and career success. Selections are based on professional success; however, a demonstrated commitment to USF and opportunity for future involvement may also be considered.

Established in 2004, this prestigious award celebrates the accomplishments of USF's youngest alumni. The awards event, which includes an entertaining and informative recipients' panel discussion, provides an enrichment opportunity for students and an engaging networking opportunity for students, alumni and friends.

  • Only living alumni who've completed at least one class at USF and who have not reached the age of 36 by Jan. 1 of the award presentation year are eligible.
  • Members of the Awards Committee (hereinafter referred to as “the Committee”), as well as members of the USF Alumni Association Board of Directors and their immediate family members, are not eligible to be selected or receive the award during their period of service.
  • Individuals who are campaigning for elected political office are not eligible for the award if the election takes place within 12 months of the Committee's meeting.
  • Individuals who accept the award commit to attend the awards event, barring an unforeseeable and extraordinary circumstance.
  • USF employees may be considered provided there is a clear indication of unique and stellar success in the alum’s position.

2024 Award Recipients

Jonathan Davila

Jonathan Davila, Biomedical Sciences ’11

Jonathan Davila is president and co-founder of Vū, a creative and virtual production technology company founded in 2020. He has played a vital role in positioning Vū as an industry leader. His contributions extend to major clients, including The Walt Disney Co. and Amazon, showcasing his impactful leadership.

Corbyn Lichon, Accounting ’13

Corbyn Lichon is chief accounting officer for Baldwin Risk Partners (BRP Group), one of the 20 largest insurance brokerage firms in the nation, reaching more than 2 million clients. A CPA, Lichon serves on the board of USF’s Accounting Circle and is a USF Muma College of Business corporate mentor.

Shane McClanahan, Political Science 2015-'18

Shane McClanahan is a pitcher for the Tampa Bay Rays, a two-time Major League Baseball All-Star and the Rays’ 2023 nominee for the Roberto Clemente Award, MLB’s most prestigious individual honor. A former USF baseball team member, McClanahan is a longtime volunteer with Buddy Baseball, a league serving special-needs children.

Kyle L. McIntyre, Political Science '15

Kyle L. McIntyre is deputy director of congressional affairs at Headquarters U.S. Space Force, providing strategic planning and synchronization support for USSF activities with Congress. A Navy and Air Force Reserve veteran, McIntyre has served in numerous federal leadership roles and received multiple military and civilian commendations.

George Papadeas, Marketing ’13

George Papadeas is chief operating officer of Next Net Media, a $40 million-plus digital marketing company comprising seven brands. A former USF student body vice president and Outstanding Graduate, he has served on the USF Alumni Association board, chaired the USF BOLD Philanthropy and Engagement Council, and spearheaded creation of an endowed USF scholarship.

Janae Thomas, MPA ’18 and PhD ’23

Janae Thomas is an associate at Quinteros, Prieto, Wood and Boyer, and a judge advocate for the U.S. Air Force Reserve. A former assistant state attorney for the 13th Judicial Circuit Court, she was voted Government Attorney of the Year by the Hillsborough County Bar Association in 2020.

2024 Event Timeline

Sept. 1, 2023
Nominations open

Oct. 27, 2023
Nominations close

Award recipients notified

April 11
Outstanding Young Alumni Awards Ceremony

Presenting Sponsors

Phil and Jean Amuso

Patron Sponsors

Samuel Barrington
Cindy Kane
Catlin Layton Skufca
Chad W. Spencer


2023 Outstanding Young Alumni Awards

The 2023 Outstanding Young Alumni Awards included music, food and drinks, and a lively panel discussion led by USF's Dr. Eric Eisenberg. More than 200 people celebrated the six honorees during a reception at the Sam and Martha Gibbons Alumni Center on USF's Tampa campus.

Meet the 2023 USF Outstanding Young Alumni Award recipients

See the full list of past award recipients

Watch the 2023 Outstanding Young Alumni Awards Recap